In Spirit of the Holidays

You’ll quickly learn that I love the holiday season. I absolutely love the change in the atmosphere, the family dinners and the crafts! Woohoo!

FI and I hadn’t been able to spend much time together, due to conflicting schedules, and I was feeling down about it. We decided to take to crafting (or maybe we just went crazy) to get back on track and cheer me up. What we came up with? A wreath. I had been talking about making one for over a year, but the holidays would come and go and I would forget about it….not this year!!!!

I used a quick Pinterest search as my inspiration, but really, I made it up as I went.

(Can you tell Casper likes attention?)

(Can you tell Casper likes attention?)

What we used (All items were purchased from Hobby Lobby):

• A Styrofoam Wreath

• Ball Ornaments of various sizes

• Gold Ball Garland

• poinsettia ornament

• Hot Glue Gun

This should've been the last step. Noted.

This should’ve been the last step. Noted.

We started by gluing the garland on. That was the smartest idea I had mistake number one. Pretty sure anyone with brain would realize that this would be covered up, but it was late at night and apparently my brain was on strike. FYI: The Styrofoam melts really easily with the glue. I actually found that this helped some of the ornaments stay on. There is also a reaction that causes the glue to bubble up and turn yellow and it takes a bit longer for it to cool and harden. Just be aware of this. 

From here on out, just glue…

So. Much. Glue.

So. Much. Glue.

Sailing the ship?

Sailing the ship?

And glue…

More glue...

More glue…

A few more.

A few more.

And…yup! You guessed it! MORE GLUE!!!

Not even close to being done, but starting to take shape.

Not even close to being done, but starting to take shape.

To be fair to Mr. D...

To be fair to Mr. D…

Glue until you get your desired results….or until you can’t anymore.

Finished Product and Mr. D.

Finished Product and Mr. D.

A real picture of the wreath. We're proud!

A real picture of the wreath. We’re proud!

The best thing about making your own wreath is the ability to customize it.

This took us around 12+ hours to complete. We did a little bit over a few different nights. Also, the giant ornaments were a little TOO big, in my opinion. It was a lot of fun and just what we needed!!! Hope you enjoyed! Feel free to add pictures of your wreaths in the comments!

One thought on “In Spirit of the Holidays

  1. Pingback: Bridal Waves: Riding The Waves To Marriage

Leave a Reply

