Away To Glitter Island

So, I haven’t been blogging as much, because….WE BOUGHT A HOUSE!!!! Ahhhh! It’s been the most exciting, exhausting week of my life. We closed on Wednesday and moved in that afternoon. There’s still a lot to be done, but we have to wait to unpack, because we are updating all the carpeting. We DID get a Christmas tree and a few of our outside decorations put up.

Not quite there, but a great start.

Not quite there, but a great start.

Okay, now on to the OTHER reason I haven’t been on. In my last post, I told you about the card swap going on in the Bee. I also said I would post, regarding the crafts that I made my partners. I chose to make these awesome ‘Secret Hollow Book Cards’ that I found on Pinterest. This took me to With Glittering Eyes where I took the basic idea. I followed most of her directions and the changes they made to the tutorial they had gotten the idea from.

The materials list is pretty simple. You can use what you like, but I’ll list the things that I used. Again, I’m obsessed with Hobby Lobby. They have all of their Christmas supplies 50% off. I would spend all of my money there, if I could.

I used:

  • white card stock
  • decorative specialty card stock (12×12)
  • small card stock
  • holiday glitter
  • glue gun
  • Mod Podge
  • themes holiday stickers
  • ruler
  • cutting board
  • X-Acto knife
  • scoring tool (I used a small knife)

For the cover, cut the card stock of your choice down to 5-7/8″ x 10-1/2″. I didn’t have a scoring board, but I used a cutting board to measure everything. I used my ruler and knife and scored at 4-5/8″, 4-7/8″, 5-5/8″ and 5-7/8″. This follows the “tutorial” exactly. I did NOT, however, cut pieces to emboss. You’ll have to go “here” if you want to do so.

The Cover. Score at 4-5/8", 4-7/8", 5-5/8" and 5-7/8". This makes the "spine".

The Cover. Score at 4-5/8″, 4-7/8″, 5-5/8″ and 5-7/8″. This makes the “spine”.

now we make the “book pages”. These also follow the tutorial. Cut two pieces of white card stock to 5-3/8″ x 9 and two at 4-1/2″ x 9″. Score at 3/4″ all the way across. This should be done carefully and evenly to ensure they fit together properly.

Fold the paper on the score lines “accordion-style”, again being careful to do so properly. I happened to have some brown ink lying around from some wedding things and used it to “dust” the edges.

Put the four pieces together. And secure (I used a glue gun).

Put the four pieces together. And secure (I used a glue gun).

Put the shorter pieces into the ends of the longer ones. They should fit together perfectly. Be sure to place them all the same way (longer on top on all sides or shorter on top on all sides” to make it even.

I used various specialty card stock papers for the border. You can use paper or fabric, but you cut it down to 4-5/8″ x 5-1/2″ and then cut the middle out so that the remaining rectangle forms a border that measures 7/8″ all around.

I used this example just to show you.

I used this example just to show you.

Now you are finished with the main portion of the book  and can have fun making the actual scenes. This book doesn’t give you much room, so you have to scale everything way down. It was the fun, yet tricky part. I did a ‘Night Before Christmas’, ‘Winter Wonderland’ and ‘Gingerbread House’ theme.

For Night Before Christmas, I cut out a window, used the leftover red card stock for the backing, made little gifts out of card stock, used glitter and Mod Podge for the star, the little balls that my glue gun formed when it was sitting idle for the ornaments and glue gun and glitter for the garland. I painted the little glue balls with some paint and Mr. D helped by making a tiny dog. It was awesome.

Mr. D even made a little puppy for this one. I never got a picture. :/ I used Moss to cover the tree and painted the little balls that the glue gun forms, using nail polish. :)

Mr. D even made a little puppy for this one. I never got a picture. :/ I used Moss to cover the tree and painted the little balls that the glue gun forms, using nail polish. 🙂

For Winter Wonderland, I used the snowman stickers and built a snowman and used glitter and Mod Podge to decorate him. Mr. D made the hills out of dark and light card stock out of the mini pad we got and the trees out of the snowman sticker pack. I then brushed the whole thing with Mod Podge and put on some glitter that looked like snow that I had laying around.

Mr. D cut out some various shades of dark and light paper for the hills and I had some cool white snow-like glitter laying around. I used some stickers from Hobby Lobby and spruced them up a bit.

Mr. D cut out some various shades of dark and light paper for the hills and I had some cool white snow-like glitter laying around. I used some stickers from Hobby Lobby and spruced them up a bit.

Finally, I handmade the Gingerbread House using the mini pad of card stock. I used brown for the actual house and cut two windows and a door out. I cut the door so that it could open and then used a glue gun to make a doorknob. I placed the house on too of yellow paper and cut that out. I used the glue gun to make the “frosting” stand out and let it cool. I then used some gingerbread men and some candy cane stickers and added glitter to them. I made some snow and a chocolate path and glued those on green paper. I glued all that on, along with some trees I decorated with Mod Podge and glitter.

I handmade the Gingerbread house and decorated it with some more stickers. I used glitter and Mod Podge to decorate the stickers and a glue gun and more of the snowy glitter to make the "frosting" on the roof. The little door even opens.

I handmade the Gingerbread house and decorated it with some more stickers. I used glitter and Mod Podge to decorate the stickers and a glue gun and more of the snowy glitter to make the “frosting” on the roof. The little door even opens.

Here are the finished products. I attached a recipe and used the middle cutouts as a gift tag and wrote them a small note on them. One of the ladies even told me about her dog, so I included a recipe for him. You can add gift cards, recipes, money…anything your heart desires!:

I just decorated all the covers with more stickers and even one with Mod Podge and glitter.

I just decorated all the covers with more stickers and even one with Mod Podge and glitter.

Night Before Christmas.

Night Before Christmas.

Winter Wonderland.

Winter Wonderland.

Gingerbread House

Gingerbread House

A few notes: This takes a while (more than one day per card. Be patient and have fun. You can use the dull side of a knife and a ruler to score (just takes a bit longer). Press down really hard. Make sure you measure where to put everything before you glue them down. I messed up on the last one and had to cut off some of my hard work when I glued the “pages” down on the scene. It’s up to you where you want to attach your cover. I glued the spine and back to the pages. Play around and see what you like best. The glue gun makes it a lot more stiff, but I feel like it held better. I went over all glitter with Mod Podge a couple of times for a bit more security.

If you decide to make these, please share pictures of your finished products!!! I love this stuff! Happy Holidays and Smooth Sailing!

2 thoughts on “Away To Glitter Island

  1. Pingback: Setting Sails, Once Again | Bridal Waves: Riding The Waves To Marriage

  2. Pingback: Bridal Waves: Riding The Waves To Marriage

Leave a Reply

