Valentine’s Day Waves

Hey there! I realize that Valentine’s Day was last weekend, but I never really made my post about it. We have been off from school since Friday, so now I’m getting antsy. Mr. D cooked us some fancy dinner and we ate by the light of some fake candles and watched a movie at home. He also bought me some cookie/cake flavored chocolates and chocolate covered strawberries. Pretty perfect if you ask me.

image

So there was another Bee swap for Valentine’s Day and, once again, I decided to go handmade. I made cute little ‘Honey Bee Mine’ cards using card stock and some embroidery thread. It was tedious, yet fun.

1. I cut some white card stock down according to my envelope size (left a little wiggle room, but not a lot).

image

2. Next, I drew out my little bee design. I just did it until it was the way I wanted (I did it freehand) and then I poked holes around my design. At first, I spaced the holes out a lot, but I didn’t want the white to show through, so I put them closer together. I made three, so then I placed the first on top of the others and made dots with a mechanical pencil and the holes from the first one. That way I didn’t have to redraw the pattern.

image3. Now it’s time to start sewing. I made that heart inside the bee, so I took my thread from the back and brought it around, through the heart. Just do that all the way around. This takes FOREVER!!!! It’s so pretty, though and my thread lightened up in certain places and it made a pretty cool effect.

image

image

4. I then wrote ‘Honey Bee Mine!’ And drew some antennae on there. The tips were little hearts. šŸ™‚ I also drew a cute little face for my bee.

image

5. I covered all the words and the two antennae and the heart in the middle with some glitter, because….who doesn’t love glitter?!!!

image

6. Now to spruce it up and put it all together! I cut out a strip of paper to make the head “pop” and then I folded it kind of like a step (on both ends). That’s about the best I could describe it. Lol.

image

image

7. Glue on the tab and the little head and that’s all she wrote! They are so unique and adorable and you can use them for anything. You can make your own design. Hopefully my partners loved them!

image

image

Leave a Reply

