Curly Willow Chair Clips

When I was looking for something to do with my chair sashes, my original plan was to just buy a pack of them and call it a day. Then I thought, I’ve put so much work into the rest of the decorations, why slack off now?

I tried to find some cool, beach ideas. I found this really cool chair with a bunch of fabric threaded through it. Since Mr. Sea Monkey would be decorating while I got ready, I decided to keep it simple. This would take too much work, but it is beautiful.

chair11_mini

Photo via intimateweddings

I also found these curly willow chair clips. They are just made of several pieces of fabric and then clipped onto chair sashes. They seemed like they would be a lot less time consuming when it came to Mr. Sea Monkey having to decorate on the Big Day.

chair sash

Photography by LoveRidge Photography/Carissa Cady Photography Sashes made by Hello Friday Events

I thought these were beautiful and fit the theme perfectly, so I searched for them and they were very expensive. We didn’t have it in our budget and couldn’t justify spending that much money on them. Mr. Sea Monkey and I decided we were going to make them into a DIY project to try and save money.

I knew they couldn’t be that hard to make, but I also couldn’t find an in-depth tutorial on how to make them. I searched everywhere for one, so I’m going to write one up for you guys, in case you want to make them yourself. They are really easy.

Materials:

  • Fabrics of your choice
  • Plate
  • Fabric Marker
  • Cutting Mat
  • Fabric Scissors

image

Personal Photo

How to make them:

1.) Trace a circle on your fabric, using the plate and fabric marker. The reason I say to use a fabric marker is, the ink disappears after so many hours. Then you don’t have to worry about marking up your fabric. Mr. SM and I used chiffon and satin. We got several circles per yard, but we bought 4 yards of fabric for all 14 of the chairs.

image

Personal Photo

2.) Cut out the circle. The chiffon is very thin and it was hard to cut and slips and slides a lot. Just be careful using the thinner fabrics. They do look flowy, so that’s why we decided to use it.

circle

Personal Photo

3.) Start cutting in a spiral, from the outer edge to the middle. This is what makes the curly shape. I thought the fabric was cut wavy, but it curls up as you go. You can make it as thin (makes longer curls) or thick (makes shorter curls) as you want it to be. I sealed the edges of the satin with a candle, but you don’t have to do that if you don’t care about fraying. The chiffon didn’t really fray at all.

spiral start spiral

1 willow branch

Personal Photos

4.) Tie your sash and attach the clips to them. I ordered satin sashes from cv linens and I went with the swag knot to tie them. I pinned mine on with a pearlized head straight pin. You can also tie them to a bull clip, I just didn’t want mine to be long, so I folded them in half and pinned them on to make it easier for Mr. SM (just be sure to warn guests to be careful if you use pins).

image

Personal Photo

6.) Then just fluff until your heart desires. The more you fluff, the fuller it looks. That’s all there is to it.

image

Personal Photo

Here’s a video on a few different ways to tie a chair sash. I used the second knot she did and it worked perfectly for the clips.

Video by TheWeddingGurus

This is very easy, but I recommend doing them during a girls night, or having your partner help you on them. Mr. Sea Monkey cut out all the circles, I did the spirals and, together, we got them done in a couple of days. It was going to cost us around $180 to buy or rent and ended up costing us less than $50 to make them ourselves. This is one of those times I’m glad I’m a DIYer. I can’t wait to see all our guests’ faces when we tell them we made these ourselves.

One thought on “Curly Willow Chair Clips

  1. Pingback: With You By My Side: Why It’s Not All About Me | Bridal Waves: Riding The Waves To Marriage

Leave a Reply

