Love Unhatched: Ceremony Time

Scene: Around the corner of the hotel sits the pool and bar area, the only thing standing between my dad and I and the dune that it overlooks. Out on that dune is my family, my best friends and the man I love with a big smile on his face. The sun wasn’t out, but that made for the perfect weather with the breeze coming off the ocean.

DSC_5040

I, for the first time, saw all our hard work come together. From our aisle runner, to the programs and fans we made, everything came together so perfectly. The ocean was nice and calm and the people in the pool stopped to watch as I walked past. All I could focus on was Mr. Sea Monkey and his big smile when he saw me walking towards him.

DSC_5048DSC_5042DSC_5060DSC_5062DSC_5063

In the opening, Charles thanked our friends and family for being there and then he talked about them being part of our circle of love. Today, that circle was going to be overlapped with a new circle that was our bond and the love between us. It was an amazing way to incorporate the ones we loved.

DSC_5158

We surprised both of our mothers with the Rose Ceremony. Mr. SM handed a rose and handwritten letter to my mom and I did the same with his. This was something we kept our lips sealed about, so it was a complete surprise to them both. I know it is something that meant a lot to them.

DSC_5082

DSC_5084

While we were repeating our vows, Charles threw in, “Mr. SM, you are one lucky man!” He made me repeat it and then asked if he had gotten it right. I loved that so much and it helped me breathe a bit before repeating those words that would seal the deal. Our guests got a pretty big kick out of it too.

DSC_5133g

All jokes aside, we exchanged our vows and rings. We went with the traditional vows and not handwritten, personal ones. That was followed by the sand ceremony and let me tell you, that was harder than it looks! Sunny Isles Beach has some sand to remember our wedding day by. We both had shaky hands and the sand poured out faster than anticipated, but  we still were left with a beautiful frame and some happy memories.

DSC_5144nDSC_5155DSC_5161DSC_5186

Of course, the last thing we got to do was seal the deal with a kiss. Well, two kisses. He had him kiss me again and dip me which Mr. SM was more than happy to do.

DSC_5193DSC_5195

Walking back up the aisle with my new HUSBAND was the best part of the whole thing. This Will Be (An Everlasting Love) by Natalie Cole played in the background and I couldn’t think of a more perfect song.  Some people may find it silly, but the beach ball toss tied everything together (and yes, Mr. SM’s dad got him in the face. Haha). It was a lot easier to clean up than flower petals and some of the little kids that were in the pool enjoyed collecting them too.

DSC_5201DSC_5204

After the ceremony wrapped up, we took a few photos with our guests and then they headed to the West Wing for our reception. Mr. SM and I went down to the beach to take some more pictures. Just as we were taking our last picture, it began to rain.

DSC_5213DSC_5214DSC_5215DSC_5230DSC_5231DSC_5245rDSC_5253DSC_5257

+

+

(All pictures credited to Fort Lauderdale Beach Weddings)

In case you missed previous recaps (or forgot):

  1. Love Unhatched: Nashville, TN
  2. Love Unhatched: Savannah, GA
  3. Love Unhatched: We’ve Arrived
  4. Love Unhatched: Be Our Guest
  5. Love Unhatched: Cake Dilemma
  6. Love Unhatched: Guests Begin Arriving
  7. Love Unhatched: Last Minute Details
  8. Love Unhatched: Pre-Wedding Set Up
  9. Love Unhatched: Let The Madness Begin

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

